Fall Runner

I haven’t posted in a while, so I thought I’d share what I did today.  It was kind of whim, but here it is.  I took my kids to Bates Nut Farm yesterday to get some pumpkins for baking and our Fall display.

A couple of weeks ago, I bought some loose Fall leaves from the dollar store (2 packs for $1)  I was going to just lay them loose on my bookshelf, but I could see what a mess that would be, because my son can’t seem to keep his hands off his pumpkin, so I started with two leaves, and stitched them together, using a straight stitch.  I continued to do that, alternating colors,  until I reached the length I wanted.  Then I turned it back around and stitched another row until I ran out of leaves.

What I thought would also be cute is, sew the first part of the leaf then,  as you start toward the center of the leaf, start spreading the leaves apart a little and it creates a nice ripple in the runner.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

