Mitered Corners

I’ve tried to avoid making blankets that required binding because of the mitered corners!  They just seem so complicated and I didn’t want to go through the hassle! I spent a lot of time just thinking about it and came up with an idea on how to do it very simply, but it’s hard to get myself to sit and “practice” sewing. I guess I had to have the right motivation!  I sat down last night and tried my idea and it worked!! This is how I will be doing mitered corners from now on.

I bought satin blanket binding.  When you look at it, it’s folded lengthwise.  One side is just a little shorter  than the other side. (see picture below) The shorter edge will be facing up and the side you will be working from.

I cut my fabric, the size I want my blanket to be.  If I want it to be 36″ X 36″ I will fold my blanket binding every 36″ and place a mitered corner at those places.   See the pictures below to see how I make the mitered corners.

I fold the blanket binding, right sides together, matching the edges and the center fold and pin it in place.   I used a paper CD sleever to mark my mitered corner.  Align the CD sleeve, like the picture below, making sure that the corner on the right is aligned with the center fold and just short of the cross fold.  The left corner of the CD sleeve must also be aligned with the center fold. 

Hold in place and mark the blanket binding.  I used a pencil.

With the pins still in place,  stitch over the marked lines you made.

Then trim around the point.  I cut open the outer triangle pieces, so I can spread them out flat.

I made all the corners before putting them on the blanket. This process worked perfectly for me.  I hope it works for you too!

Leave a Reply

